Review #26: NYX Total Control Drop Foundation in Vanilla

Hello everyone!  I’m back with another review! So today I want to talk about the NYX Total  Control Drop Foundation!

img_2513

So I have seen this product out a lot. Not even exaggerating. And I always hear so many positive things about it. So I decided to try it out myself! Now NYX doesn’t really offer very many shades for this foundation. I think I counted about 5 or 6. I kind of went into this knowing that I would have to mix a few shades. But for the hell of it, I decided to  just try the shade Vanilla and see how it did for me. The answer was… too light for me and too much on the cooler tone for my skin.

The cool thing about this product is that it applies with a dropper, which I thought was very unique and interesting and I rather enjoyed it. It was more on the watery side, but completely buildable to a medium to full coverage. And super lightweight! I definitely didn’t feel it on my face! Not overly drying for a matte foundation and definitely not oily. My skin had no issues with this foundation!

This foundation took on my 8 hour work shift like a champ! It didn’t smudge or crease or sweat off! This was exactly what I needed in a foundation in such a hot and fast paced environment.

Now for the price… This is where I had a few issues. The bottle is not very big and yet the price for this foundation (I got mine at Target) was $13.99. Which I thought was pricey considering the size of the bottle and the fact that there is not that many shades, meaning you would have to buy two of them to just make your shade. So at around $30 to mix to your shade, I feel like it would be a little better to opt for a higher end foundation with the same outcome as two bottles of the NYX.

I rated this foundation 3 1/2 stars. It was definitely a nice product, but for the lack of shades and the steep price for a drugstore brand, I could not swallow repurchasing it. Do I recommend this product, yes if you do not mind buying two shades. No if you want to be a little nicer to your wallet. But I would not be repurchasing this product!

This is me tuning out until next time! ❤

Leave a comment